Southwest Guacamole

IMG_7457I am absolutely obsessed with guacamole.  Seriously.  I.  Love.  It.

For the longest time I would make the basic avocado and tomato recipe like everyone else.  Then I stumbled across a southwest styled guacamole at my local grocery store and now I have a new obsession.  This copycat version is so delicious with more vegetables than a basic guacamole recipe.  Who doesn’t need more veggies in their life?  I know I need more!  The corn and black bean mixture really stands out to make your dip a little more fun for a party or a taco night!

Preparation time: About 20 minutes.

 

Shopping List

5 Hass Avocados, Pits Removed

3 Tbsp of Lemon Juice

1/2 Cup of Red Onion, Diced

1 Tsp of Salt

1 Tsp of Black Pepper

1 Roma Tomato, Diced

1/2 Cup of Corn

1/2 Cup of Black Beans

1 Jalapeño, Chopped Finely

 

Directions

  1. In a medium size bowl, add the avocados (peeled and pits removed) and mash with a fork or potato masher to desired consistency.  I prefer a chunky mixture so I mash for less time.
  2.  Then add the rest of the ingredients and mix with a spoon.  I like to mash the avocados first then add the rest of the ingredients because I don’t like when the tomatoes are mashed.  (Alternative: Instead of using a jalapeño you can substitute it with 8 dashes of Frank’s Original RedHot Sauce)
  3. Serve with tortilla chips!  (I recommend the scoop shaped chips because they don’t break as easily as the flat ones with a heavier dip)

Enjoy!

 

*If you would like the recipe less spicy then remove the seeds of the jalapeño*

Click on photo to save as a pin!

To recreate this look then click here for similar white ramekins.

 

 

Leave a Reply

